Updated List of Local Destinations that waived the RT-PCR test requirement

Updated List of Local Destinations that waived the RT-PCR test requirement

More local destinations have waived the RT-PCR test requirements for fully vaccinated tourists, indicating that the Philippines’ tourism industry is slowly bouncing back.

The Department of Tourism (DOT) released an updated list of domestic destinations that no longer require a negative Covid-19 test for fully vaccinated individuals last Nov. 13.

Luckily, some favorite and popular tourist spots such as Boracay Island, Bohol, Cebu, and Baguio are included in the said list.

Instead of the RT-PCR test, these destinations require only vaccination cards issued by the Department of Health (DOH) or the local government unit (LGU) where the vaccination was administered.

“With the lifting of the testing requirements for fully vaccinated visitors to these destinations, travel has become more affordable and accessible for domestic tourists, especially with coming holiday season,” Tourism Secretary Berna Romulo-Puyat said in a statement.

However, she reminded tourists to observe minimum health and safety protocols when traveling.

“As we expect more tourists going to Boracay Island, and other destinations that have eased travel requirements for fully vaccinated individuals in the coming weeks, we continue to remind travelers to observe minimum health and safety protocols when visiting the spots,” added the tourism chief.

Puyat also reminded the tourism businesses, workers, and other stakeholders not to be complacent and continue to enforce and follow the safety protocols to prevent the Covid-19 cases from increasing.

“Let us do our individual parts to ensure that there will be no outbreaks in our destinations,” she said.

Meanwhile, Puyat shared that in Boracay Island, tourism workers who receive the first dose reached a 100.2% vaccination rate, indicating more workers—who were not included in the DOT’s initial target—have now returned to their jobs.

As of Nov. 13, 2021, the DOT’s list of provinces that accept vaccination cards in place of COVID-19 tests for travelers include:

  • Tarlac
  • Pampanga
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Camiguin (starting Nov. 15)
  • Batangas
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Masbate
  • Camarines Norte
  • Iloilo
  • Guimaras (starting Nov. 16)
  • Negros Occidental
  • Bohol
  • Southern Leyte
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Bulacan
  • Cebu Province

Further, the following destinations are also accepting vaccination cards as requirements for travelers:

  • Boracay (starting Nov. 16)
  • San Vicente, Palawan
  • Naga City, Camarines Sur
  • Baguio City, Benguet
  • Cebu City and Mandaue City
  • Clark Freeport Zone
  • Subic Bay Freeport Zone
  • Dingalan, Aurora
  • Maasin City, Leyte
  • Ormoc City, Leyte
  • Calbayog City, Samar
  • Mati, Davao Oriental

Share Tweet Send

Related Articles