8 more countries are added to the PH's red list starting December 16

8 more countries are added to the PH's red list starting December 16

The Philippines added eight countries to its "red list" to prevent the heavily mutated omicron COVID-19 variant from entering the country, the Malacañang said.

Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles said starting today, December 16 until December 31, travelers from the following countries will be banned from entering the Philippines:

  • Andorra
  • France
  • Monaco
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Reunion
  • San Marino
  • South Africa
  • Switzerland

He added that the restriction is effective for everyone whose been to these eight territories in the last 14 days regardless of their vaccination status.

But, Nograles said the government exempts Filipinos returning through repatriation efforts and "Bayanihan" flights from the travel ban.

"To all those who plan to come home during the holidays, we humbly request your patience as we in the IATF continue to make modifications to our protocols. These are all being done in response to evolving situations in the world," he said based on the report of ABS-CBN.

"We want to keep our people safe, and we will do what is necessary to achieve that," he added.

Vaccinated Filipinos from the Red Listed countries must present a negative RT-PCR test result taken 72 hours before their departure.

Nograles also said that these travelers must undergo facility quarantine, but they'll be released after getting a negative RT-PCR test result taken on the seventh day.

However, he said they must stay on home quarantine until the 14th day.

Meanwhile, for the unvaccinated, partially vaccinated, or Filipinos whose inoculation status cannot be validated, they must also show a pre-departure negative RT-PCR test.

Regardless of when they get their second RT-PCR test result on the seventh day, they still have to complete a 10-day facility quarantine. After that, they'll undergo home quarantine until the 14th day.

The Philippines later Wednesday detected its first two imported cases of the omicron coronavirus variant of concern.

The Health Department said the two Omicron variant cases, detected from 48 samples sequenced on Dec. 14, are currently isolated in a quarantine facility.


Share Tweet Send

Related Articles