Baguio temporary banned tourists coming from NCR and other nearby provinces

Baguio temporary banned tourists coming from NCR and other nearby provinces

Following the latest travel restrictions enforced to curb the alarming rise of Covid-19 cases, the Baguio City Mayor Benjamin Magalong announced that tourists from the National Capital Region and nearby provinces would temporarily be banned from entering Baguio.

However this would affect the number of tourists who plan to visit the City of Pines, especially during the Lenten season, Magalong said.

"Because of this recent issuance of Resolution 104 by IATF, we will also make the necessary adjustments... hindi tayo tatanggap ng tourists (we're not going to accept tourists) coming from NCR and some parts of Regions III and IV, specifically Rizal, Bulacan, Cavite, and Laguna..." Magalong said.

"That comprises about 70% of our visitors. So we're expecting a downtrend of our visitors especially this Holy Week and that's one way of controlling mobility. We need to control mobility," he added.

The Philippine government made new travel restrictions going to and from the bubble of Metro Manila, Laguna, Cavite, Rizal, and Bulacan over the weekend.

Starting from March 22 until April 4, non-essential travel will no longer be allowed to help in preventing the further transmission of the virus.

In Baguio City, Magalong bared that they just had their active community testing for four days and that resulted in 30 positive cases out of 2,641 individuals.

Magalong said to minimize the spread of the virus in the city, offices should implement a 50% working capacity.

Source: GMA News

Share Tweet Send

Related Articles