Countries under the "Red List" are temporarily prohibited from entering the Philippines

Countries under the "Red List" are temporarily prohibited from entering the Philippines

Travellers from nine countries are temporarily prohibited from entering the Philippines, as President Rodrigo Duterte approved the proposal of the pandemic task force officials.

Starting from September 12 to 18, travellers belonging to the "Red List" or the countries considered high risk for COVID-19 will be in effect.

According to Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque, those who are under the temporary travel prohibition are the ones who recently came from or went to the following countries:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam
  • Israel
  • Kosovo
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Saint Lucia
  • Switzerland

Particularly, those who have been in any of these countries within 14 days before their scheduled arrival in the Philippines are prohibited from entering the country.

But, those who are just transiting through these countries, wherein they only stayed at the airport of any of those countries, are exempted from the travel ban.

"In the case of Filipino or foreign passengers who merely transited through any of the abovementioned countries, they shall not be considered as having come or having been to the said country, provided they stayed in the airport the whole time and were not cleared for entry by immigration authorities," said the official.

According to Roque, Filipinos returning to the Philippines via the government-initiated or non-government repatriation programs and special commercial flights permitted by the government are also exempted.

Meanwhile, travellers from the red list countries who arrived before the ban will be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine. Ten days in a government facility, and the remaining days, will be in the homes of their respective local government units of destination.

An RT-PCR Test shall also be conducted on the 7th day after arriving, where the day of arrival counts as day one.

(Source: Rappler, ABS-CBN News)

Share Tweet Send

Related Articles