PH added more countries in its "Red List" amid the threat of the new Covid-19 variant

PH added more countries in its "Red List" amid the threat of the new Covid-19 variant

The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) added seven more European nations in its “red listed” countries, wherein travelers from these places are banned from entering the Philippines.

Austria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Belgium and Italy are now under the Red List starting Nov. 28 until Dec. 15.

Earlier, the government also removed 7 African nations (South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Mozambique) from its green list countries due to the presence of a new Covid-19 variant, the Omicron, which is said to have many mutations.

The IATF said it would not permit inbound international travelers from or who have been to Red List areas within the last 14 days, regardless of their vaccination status.

But, the IATF said Filipinos planning to return to the Philippines may be allowed as long as it’s via government-initiated or non-government-initiated repatriation and Bayanihan Flights.

However, they also said that these Filipinos’ entry would be subject to the prevailing entry, testing, and quarantine protocols for Red List areas.

The government clarified that it would not bar passengers already in transit and all who have been to these Red List areas within 14 days immediately before their arrival in the Philippines or who arrive before 12:01 a.m. Nov. 30.

“They shall nevertheless be required to undergo facility-based quarantine for 14 days with testing on the 7th day, with day 1 being the date of arrival, notwithstanding a negative RT-PCR result,” the IATF said in a statement.

Meanwhile, travelers who have already arrived before Nov. 28 and are currently undergoing quarantine under their country of origin’s classifications shall complete their respective testing and quarantine protocols.

The IATF added that passengers, whether Filipinos or foreigners, merely transiting through these Red List areas will not be deemed as having come from these areas if they stayed in the airport the whole time.

“Upon their arrival in the Philippines, passengers covered by the immediately preceding paragraph shall comply with existing testing and quarantine protocols,” the IATF said.

(ABS-CBN News)

Share Tweet Send

Related Articles